Rosenbaum & Rosenbaum, P.C. | February 19, 2016 | Car Accidents
Every state imposes specific requirements on car insurance, sometimes less reputable insurance agents will try to skirt these regulations and offer you coverage that fails to meet these standards. If your car insurance policy does not provide minimum standard coverage, then it is possible that your insurer may try to deny your claim. This article will discuss the minimum coverage that your insurance must provide in order for it to satisfy New York law.
First off, every car in New York must have car insurance. You cannot register your vehicle unless you have proof of insurance. Your insurance can only have two names on it, the primary and the secondary registrant, so that spouses can be on the same insurance policy. Once your insurance is approved, you will get an insurance ID card and your insurance company will send proof of insurance to the DMV. This will allow you to register your vehicle.
You must finalize your vehicle registration within 180 days of the date your insurance coverage begins. When you go to register, the DMV will keep your insurance ID card ? so make sure you bring copies. The name on your insurance must match the name on your New York ID, so you cannot use nicknames.
The minimum coverage for valid auto liability is:
- $25,000 for injury and $50,000 for death for a single person involved in an accident.
- $50,000 / $100,000 for two or more people.
- $10,000 coverage for property damage in a single accident.
If you or a loved one was recently involved in a car collision, then you may want to speak to a personal injury lawyer. Typically, your claim should proceed through your insurance company. However, if your policy is insufficient under the law, then your claim could be denied. You may want the assistance of a legal professional before that happens to you so that you are prepared with other avenues for recovery